Help, I’m a Coconutter!

Aloha fellow coconut fans, I have a few favourite tastes and smells but there are only a few that I just can’t get enough of; peanut butter…cinnamon… & oh yes Coconut!! It literally is just heavenly.

Coconut-300x224

So for about 6months now I have been using Coconut oil for pretty much everything, it is just SO versatile, like seriously I can eat this and bath with it? Saay waaah? AMAZING!

So this is what I have been doing with my Coconut oil:

IN THE KITCHEN: I firstly started cooking with it, instead of oil in cakes I have switched to coconut oil, slightly better for you & it tastes fricking amazing, like hello who would turn down Coconut brownies? Yum.

I also use it in stir frys, it tastes divine and makes me feel a little bit healthier for eating fried vegetables.. haha!

IN THE SHOWER: Most of you know Coconut oil is hard but it quickly turns into a liquid when warmed up. While in the shower, melt your coconut oil by running the pot under the warm water. Once you have shampooed, lather your locks up with the oil & then twist your hair into a bun to lock in the moisture, try to leave it for around 5mins before rinsing it out for best results.. then style as normal, Ohhh what’s that? Your hair looks a million dollars? I know right!

Now also in the shower I use this as a all over body moisturiser, I hate the sticky feeling that some moisturisers leave after a shower it just makes me feel a bit icky. This kind of happened by accident, so my coconut oil was already in the shower from my hair mask the other day and I was thinking I’m going to try this as a body wash type thing & it worked, the water kind of beads off you and even after a vigorous towel dry I still felt super moisturised, not sticky, just clean. It’s great because it smells so fresh, its like a holiday in a little £6 pot! Just be careful it really sticks to the bath/shower and can be super slippy!

After my in-shower moisturising trick worked it got me thinking what else can I use this for? So I tried it as a shaving cream on my legs & armpits, my skin is quite sensitive and can rash after shaving so in my head this seemed like a great idea & guess what it worked!! My legs were sooo incredibly soft and didn’t rash & I didn’t need to moisturise after either, if I haven’t said it already I fricking love this stuff!!

SKINCARE: Personally I wouldn’t use Coconut oil as a facial moisturiser because I am quite prone to breaking out so to be honest I just don’t want to risk it, I do however use it to take off my eye make up. I pop a cotton wool roll under the hot tap and then rub it into my coconut oil tub. Its brilliant and so gentle around the eye skin as it is so thin and delicate.

I’ve read that some people have used coconut oil as a lip balm, I did try this but honestly it looked like I hadn’t wiped my mouth after savaging a greasy burger. Not a good look. Think I’ll stick to my Vaseline.

TEETH: I’ve read loads of weird stuff about people who are trying to DIY whiten their teeth, although this is not the weirdest. So this will most definitely not whiten your teeth. I know people have claimed to have great results from mixing coconut oil with bicarb and brushing their teeth with it but bicarb is abrasive and can damage your tooth enamel all it will actually do is remove any staining on your teeth, giving an impression of whitening. I do not recommend anyone trying this, stick to a normal fluoride toothpaste and visit the hygienist to remove the staining. Never DIY when it comes to your teeth!

So there you go, all of my tips & tricks for my all time favourite Coconut Oil. I honestly could not live without it!!

Lot’s of love,

Rhi xoxo

Are you a Coconutter? What tips or tricks have you tried with yours?

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Help, I’m a Coconutter!

  1. Aloha beautiful,

    I just came across your blog and LOVE it! You go girl! I just recently wrote about how my hair started to grow longer an healthier because of the power of coconut 🙂

    I like the fact that we are interested in the same type of things and write about similar topics.

    I just recently started my blog where I will write about my 60lbs weight loss journey, beauty, fitness, different places around the world and different types of cuisines.

    Check it out and follow me if you are interested 🙂

    I would love to hear from you here on my blog!

    http://claudiamariefit.com

    Have a lovely day!

    Aloha from Hawaii

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

