Home-made Silver Jewelry Cleaner…

Sooo I have recently moved house and just bought a lovely dressing table, so it was about time I tidied my make-up jewelry etc… On discovery of a few of my favorite silver pieces I was mortified, fair enough some of it I haven’t worn in a while but seriously it was quite disgusting… Sooo tarnished!

hkjl-200x300

 

I scoured supermarkets and jewelry stores reading & checking out about all these products that I could invest in to help return my silver back to its former glory… none of them were particularly affordable & a few of my friends had told me not to bother with a couple of what seemed like trustworthy brands! *hmph*

So then I turned to this ‘the world wide web’ and read a ton of recipes/concoctions I could make within the comfort of my own home, some had pretty good reviews, the majority of the ones I read were american & their ingredients varied slightly from what I have in the cupboard, so I rounded up the incriminating jewelry and got to work… I have to say I am extremely impressed with my home-made recipe, my jewelry is looking sooo shiny and pretty again so this is what I did…

photo1-300x225

 

Line a bowl with tin foil (shiny side up)

Then place a table spoon of salt & a table spoon of bicarb of soda into said bowl

Add three splashes of malt vinegar (two teaspoons) this should fizz a little

Then added half a cup of boiling water straight from the kettle…

photo-1-300x225

 

Place all your jewelry into the bowl and leave for 15mins or until the tarnished areas return to their former silver loveliness!

Remove all the jewelry and buff with a micro fibre cloth…

photom-300x225

 

And TADAH! Just like that your jewelry will be beautiful once more, no un-necessary trips to the jewelers or splurges on rubbish products!

I used this concoction on a hot diamonds bangle, tiffany pendant, tiffany ring, silver ‘R’ necklace & a apple diamond necklace – they all look lovely again, so happy!

So what do you think? Have any premade products worked for you? Or do you have a great concoction of your own?

Lot’s of love,

Rhi xoxo

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/14343649/?claim=nzpkx48vmgf”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

